life, love, passion, poetry, rhyming, self, spirituality, Uncategorized

That magnanimous dark night sky

Melting like velvet on my thigh

I thought I glimpsed the sparkle, the shine

I thought I knew every inch of this heart of mine

Thirstier, ravenous for sand than your bed

Led my legs tangled up in lead thread

Held up like your words in my cage

Ribs so full I confused love for rage

I’m sorry, I’m so shamed in the end

Of how I pretend, I cannot defend…

This dark night sky hugs my shadows

It holds, folds my knees, clenching dear foes

Though the foe is my worst fear

It’s just the sand in my belly, it’s here.

Standard

Leave a Reply

