life, thoughts, Uncategorized

Death and Everything Under the Sun

“I just like to know, you know?  That after all of this, there’s going to be an end to it.  Like a final end and then you’re just gone.  There’s something comforting about it.”

She stopped and gazed off onto the floor.  When she wasn’t talking or smiling her mouth was always tightly closed.  Not like someone who is uptight, but someone who’s holding something there, in her mouth, not ready to let out.  It was faintly reminiscent of the Mona Lisa’s tight-lipped smirk.

“I just think of it in a different way,” I said. “You know, ever since I was a kid, church just didn’t make sense to me.  I was so bored and wished I was at home watching ‘The X-men’ instead.  That was my bible–the X-men, that is.  And ever since I was a kid, for no particular reason, I believed in reincarnation.  I just think that energy recycles itself, that it comes back in and out like… it’s weaving itself into the organism of the earth.”

I took a sip from my café au lait and let the yellow teacup clink back onto its saucer.  The donut shop was busy with mothers and children, middle school kids, and other girls around our age, busily chatting amongst each other.  We sat there drinking and eating up food, coffee, and talk of everything under the sun.

Standard

Leave a Reply

