life, love, sex, thoughts, Uncategorized

A lot of people talk about love.

A lot of people talk about love. They say that it isn’t about needing someone, it is about accepting someone, that it’s this and that and isn’t this and that, and what they do and don’t know about it based on some great, grand, or sometimes minimal experience they’ve had (and maybe, maybe they’ve had good, even great sex somewhere in there).

It makes me think that really, there is no such thing as love.

If there was such a thing as love, we would see it. It would be tangible. We could wake up in the morning, pick it up, put it in our pockets, and throw it away when finished. If there was such a thing as love, we would be able to hold it when we wanted it, and let go when we were tired of the weight of it.

If it existed, we wouldn’t doubt the influence of love. If we were able to know that love was a 100% scientific fact, then the acceptance of love would be easy for us.

If there was such a thing as love, we would document it and observe it and store it in tube containers and say “This is sample LOV1.2!” or something like that. We could poke at it with a toothpick or scalpel.

If it were real, we would be more certain.  We would understand how it worked.  We would know it was there.

Wouldn’t we?

Standard

3 thoughts on “A lot of people talk about love.

    • littlespoonsway says:

      I think human beings are a bit more complicated than that. “Love” may be a product of biology and evolution, but it’s carried on by something we don’t quite yet understand. I don’t know either.

  1. Since I’m a musician, I feel like I have to fight for the intangible. I think there are many different kinds of love, they all get expressed in their own unique ways, and that the trouble (at least for me) isn’t accepting love as a concept, but rather, believing it when we do encounter it. For example- I see a little bit of love when a stranger smiles, I taste love when my roommate brews an extra cup of coffee for me, love gets smeared on postcard ink from far away friends, and I hear it when my brother answers the phone even though he’s busy. Because of this, I don’t think it’s fair to say that love doesn’t exist. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m far from an expert on romantic love, but love of sunshine? Love of friendship? Love of comedy? I’ve got that in spades.

    One of my favorite quotes about romantic love comes from an Iron & Wine song where he asks, “Do his hands in your hair feel a lot like a thing you believe in?” I totally get where you’re coming from regarding romantic love, but this line always reminds me to be open so I can believe love when I see it. There are so many conflicting opinions about what love is and isn’t and maybe this is naive of me, but I like to think that I’ll know love when that lyric makes sense.

    Sorry, this ended up way longer than I anticipated! I guess I love writing too.

Leave a Reply

